Can You Take Cannabis From Oregon To Washington?

Posted by La Cannaisseur on Monday, July 3, 2017

La Cannaisseur_Scientists_Want_The_Government_To_Make_It_Easier_To_Study_Marijuana

At La Cannaisseur the moment you walk through our doors you will be greeted by a welcoming atmosphere and a knowledgeable staff. This is because we are a small, family-run dispensary in Portland OR, offering you a unique and welcoming experience, as well as delivery to Portland residents.

With more about more states legalizing marijuana, there is some confusion about the general rules of what is and isn’t allowed. Oregon and Washington have both legalized it, so if you cross the river it shouldn’t be a problem right?

Wrong. Cannabis is still federally illegal, and crossing state borders is under Federal jurisdiction. You can land yourself in some serious trouble if you cross state borders with weed on you. So it is better to just play it safe and not risk fines or jail time.

Section 812 of Title 21 of the U.S. Code, the Schedule of Controlled Substances makes no distinction between a legal state, a medical state, or an illegal state. Violating this section is a federal crime and could earn you a drug trafficking charge, even for the lowest tier of cannabis.

For the possession of:

  • 1 kilogram or less of hash oil
  • 10 kilograms or less of hashish
  • 1 to 49 cannabis plants
  • Less than 50 kilograms of cannabis flower

The penalties are:

  • 1st offense: up to 5 years in federal prison and a fine of $250,000 to $1 million
  • 2nd offense: up to 10 years in federal prison and a fine of $500,000 to $2 million

Basically, it doesn’t matter if it’s a gram or 50 kilograms of cannabis–the penalty remains the same.

Indeed, even some legalized states are starting to carry penalties for transporting cannabis across state lines. 

Oregon passed House Bill 4014 expressly forbidding the import of cannabis from another state, as well as exporting cannabis across state lines. Violating this law by importing or exporting:

  • Up to an ounce of cannabis is punishable by a Class B violation: $260 fine

  • Over an ounce of cannabis is punishable by a Class A misdemeanor:  $6,250 fine

  • Over 16 ounces of cannabis is punishable by a Class C felony: $125,000 fine and up to 5 years imprisonment

At La Cannaissuer you can expect quality as well as variety in our buds and products. We care about providing a personal experience and feel that you can only really get from a local dispensary. That means you get better prices and better weed if you visit or request a recreational marijuana delivery.

Come Visit Us In Our Store Or Check Out What We Offer! Learn More About La Cannaisseur’s Marijuana Home Delivery!

SRC: Can You Transport Between Two Legal States?

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

About La Cannaisseur


We care about providing the personal touch you can only get from a local cannabis dispensary. This means better prices and better weed for those who visit or request a recreational marijuana delivery in Portland, OR.


Sitemap

Marijuana products are for use by adults 21 years of age and older. Do not operate motor vehicles or machinery under the influence. Keep out of reach of children.